Based on Devenish Island in Lough Erne, County Fermanagh, Devenish Monastery was first established in the 6th century by Saint Molaise. The monastery was destroyed by the Vikings in 837 AD, burned in 1175 AD, then, in the 15th century, a small church and St. Mary’s Augustine Priory were built on the same site. In the years that followed, a small cloister and tower were then added.
Today, signs of Devenish Monastery still remain, including its tower and a graveyard site with stone crosses dating back to the 15th century. It is possible to take a boat tour along the lower part of Lough Erne to take in the magnificent view of what remains of Devenish Island Monastery from the water. Additionally, visitors can discover the monastery up close, and soak up more about the site’s heritage at a museum located on the island. With wonderful views out to the picturesque Fermanagh Lakelands, there are few monastic sites in Ireland that can rival Devenish Island for its beauty and awe.
Devenish Island is a short drive from Fermanagh’s main town Enniskillen, lying approximately 3 kilometres from the centre of the town.